Why Jean-Philippe Mateta has ex-Man City star to thank for penalty re-take against Man United after rule change

Nov 30, 2025 - 13:15
Why Jean-Philippe Mateta has ex-Man City star to thank for penalty re-take against Man United after rule change

Jean-Philippe Mateta was given a lifeline while giving Crystal Palace the lead against Manchester United.

The Frenchman, who has been superb from the spot for the Eagles, almost cost his side when a double touch of the ball ruled out his 36th minute opener.

Mateta touched the ball with his left foot before scoring with his right
TNT Sports
The VAR team checked the incident and Mateta was allowed a re-take as he scored
TNT Sports

However, thanks to a recent rule change, he was allowed to re-take the attempt, and put it away past Senne Lammens once again.

Had Mateta been guilty of the double touch last season, his first attempt would have been overruled and play would have continued.

Yet the France striker has former Manchester City man Julian Alvarez to thank, with his double touch in last season’s Champions League knockout stages prompting a re-writing of the rules.

The Atletico Madrid striker scored in the shoot-out against arch rivals Real Madrid, but Kylian Mbappe quickly spotted a double touch, with the attempt ruled out and Atleti eventually losing.

After the incident in March, the International Football Association Board (IFAB) announced an amendment to the rules which came into effect on July 1.

The law now reads: “The rule change introduces a clear distinction between involuntary and voluntary double touches when taking a penalty kick.

“Involuntary Double Touch: If the ball enters the goal, the penalty will be retaken.

“If the ball does not enter the goal, an indirect free kick will be awarded to the opposing team (or the attempt will be recorded as missed in a shootout), unless the referee plays advantage.

“Voluntary Double Touch: If the player intentionally touches the ball twice before another player does, an indirect free kick will be awarded (or the attempt will be recorded as missed in a shootout), unless advantage is applied.”

Announcing Mateta’s re-take, the referee said: “After review, Crystal Palace 14, touches the ball accidentally twice as the ball goes into the net. The final decision is a retaken penalty.”

More to follow.

What's Your Reaction?

Like Like 0
Dislike Dislike 0
Love Love 0
Funny Funny 0
Angry Angry 0
Sad Sad 0
Wow Wow 0